Collision only - collision culling using flags?

Buckeye

Collision only - collision culling using flags?

Post by Buckeye »

First - I'm a noob. I've worked a bit with ODE and am coming to the conclusion that ODE might be overkill for my purposes. However, the API concepts appear somewhat similar between Bullet and ODE (collision objects, callbacks, culling, etc.) So, for use in a game, I'm trying to get started with Bullet collision-only to see if it will work for me. Dynamics really isn't necessary for the interface I want.

As I will likely have many static objects in the environment and few moving objects, I'm mostly interested in quick culling of static-static collision testing, or, perhaps elimination altogether? AABB testing will probably be fine for what I need, although (for the time being) I'm also maintaining an OOBB in my code until I find an adequate collision-detection system.

I've looked at the collision-only demo example and have several questions for which I can't find documentation.

I've noticed btCollisionObjects have a collision flag and a collision type. Are those used or can they be used for culling, say, to eliminate early static-static collisions?

Is there a collision object equivalent to the bitmasks for filter group and filter mask (that can be set for rigid bodies)?

Unlike rigid bodies, the source code for collision objects implies there are only fixed types (rather than a user bitfield) for collision flags and collision types. If they are used during collision detection (I haven't found anything yet in the source code that tells me), what algorithm is used? If they aren't used, can I use them for my own purposes? Will I need a callback to do that?

Since I will have just a few moving objects, is there a way I can test for just my moving objects and thereby eliminate any static-static testing? Would that be faster?