Inertia tensor

frca

Inertia tensor

Post by frca »

Hi,
is it possible to somehow set my own inertia tensor for certain rigid body? I don't quite understand the meaning of calculateLocalInertia. The result is just a vector, not tensor. It seems impossible to set my user computed inertia tensor for a body. Am I missing something?
Thank you.

PS:
I am a newbie to the Bullet library and to this forum. I am interested in physics simulation, especially vehicle dynamics, as can be seen here. :wink:
Dirk Gregorius

Re: Inertia tensor

Post by Dirk Gregorius »

If the inertia tensor is defined w.r.t. the principal axes it is diagonal. Hence you can store it as 3D vector. IIRC Bullet doesn't compute the principal axes, but simply throws away the non-diagonal elements. This is not uncommon for physic engines. You can usually approximate the inertia tensor with a tight fitting box as suggested by Baraff long time ago in one of his papers.

HTH,
-Dirk
Erwin Coumans
Site Admin

Post by Erwin Coumans »

Dirk Gregorius wrote:[...] IIRC Bullet doesn't compute the principal axes, but simply throws away the non-diagonal elements.
-Dirk
Dirk, thanks for trying to help out, but your answer is not entirely correct.

Bullet defines the rigid body local coordinate frame to be equal to the center of mass and aligned with the principle axis of inertia. So for rigid bodies with basic shapes such as a btBoxShape, only the diagonal needs to be stored. Non-diagonal elements are zero and no values are 'thrown away'.
frca wrote: It seems impossible to set my user computed inertia tensor for a body. Am I missing something?
If the inertia tensor of your collision shape is not diagonal, you need to re-align the collisionshape using a btCompoundShape, and apply the inverse inertia transform to the child shape. btCompoundShape::calculatePrincipalAxisTransform computes the principle axis transform given a collection of child shapes, child transforms and their respective masses.