To add something new algorithm into bullet, how can I do?

bunengzaicai

To add something new algorithm into bullet, how can I do?

Post by bunengzaicai »

I have been tracing bullet codes for several days.
First, I should say, I am quite new to Bullet. By now, I still can not understand Bullet structure totally. I should say thanks to Erwin, since his answers help a lot.
I have some mechanics background, and want to try some new algorithm on bullet. I can write some codes like: copy SoftBody directory and replace some codes with mine. But, I don't think this is a good way.
What I want to ask is:
1. Which classes or files should I pay more attention to if I develop some algorithms? and Is there a picture or figure to describe the algorithm-inserting process?
I do want to do some contribution to Bullet and I want to contribute my codes in a professional way.
Thanks
bunengzaicai

Re: To add something new algorithm into bullet, how can I do?

Post by bunengzaicai »

No suggestions?
I found a function when following debug,

btDiscreteDynamicsWorld::internalSingleStepSimulation( timeStep );

///solve soft bodies constraints
solveSoftBodiesConstraints();

///update soft bodies
updateSoftBodies();
this function is for each step calculation, right?
I think the worst thing is to write a new solveSoftBodiesConstraints and updateSoftBodies myself, but it is not a formal way to do that.
Could anyone present your suggestions?
:P
bunengzaicai

Post by bunengzaicai »

NO REPLY??????
I think I have to modify sourcecodes of softbody demos. Actually, I changed the project file and replaced algorithm files with my own now.
It will work soon. But I think it is not a proper way to add new algorithms, right? And I can not find any docs about adding algorithms.
Erwin Coumans
Site Admin

Post by Erwin Coumans »