Hello World Introduction to Bullet

SynVis

Hello World Introduction to Bullet

Post by SynVis »

For my first post to the forums I would like to start by thanking everyone that works on this project and the documentation. The demonstration software is quite impressive and I hope to grasp the knowledge that some of the people who post on this forum seem to have attained. That being said I'm a graphics guy that is playing around and this is my first attempt to use a physics library/engine. For a 'hello world' type application I set a goal of making a demo that drops a ping pong ball on a table with realistic bounce mechanics. A quick wikipedia search for table tennis shows that a ping pong ball dropped from a height of 30cm should bounce to a height of 23cm, yielding a coefficient of restitution of 0.88. I started by building a world to match this test scenario and quickly degenerated into the following setup:

Code: Select all

_btCollisionConfig = new btDefaultCollisionConfiguration();
    _btCollisionDispatch = new btCollisionDispatcher(_btCollisionConfig);
    btVector3 worldAabbMin(-100,
                           -100);
    btVector3 worldAabbMax(100,
                           100);
    _broadphase = new btAxisSweep3(worldAabbMin, worldAabbMax);

// Default constraint solver.  
    _btSolver = new btSequentialImpulseConstraintSolver();

// World object.  I believe this is the main object the application will
    // interact with
    _btWorld = new btDiscreteDynamicsWorld(_btCollisionDispatch, 
                                           _broadphase,
                                           _btSolver, 
                                           _btCollisionConfig);

// Sets the gravity for this world: Z is up
    _btWorld->setGravity(btVector3(0, -0, -10));

/*********    Create and position the table    ****************************/
    _btTableShape = new btBoxShape(btVector3(btScalar(1.48), 
                                             btScalar(2.75),