To understand the demos?

meclory

To understand the demos?

Post by meclory »

Hi,

I heard that the best way to understand this Bullet Physics Library is to study demos. Actually my major is mechanical engineering and I don't have much knowledge about C++ language.

Please let me know what kinds of C++ concepts are necessary to fully understand demo sourcecodes. (I'm now reviewing the concept of Class and Object.)

Thank you very much for your attention to this newbie question.
abaraba

Re: To understand the demos?

Post by abaraba »

hi,

demos do contain examples how to implement almost all possible cases one would want to use Bullet for... but, for the beginning, it is bit difficult to reference multiple files, basically you would spend quite some time searching through the Bullet's "/src" folder as well as some other folders in "Demos" folder, which made very first steps difficult for me, but once you have basic knowledge of structure and program flow, once you learn few function names and know what to look for, its all rather simple...

i don't think you need to have much programming knowledge to start with Bullet, possibly only enough to "recognize" chunks of code, then just copy/paste and experiment...

C knowledge or even general Basic/Pascal should be sufficient, but if you're really new to programming i'd suggest to go over to OpenGL Red Book, they have most simple examples, extremely easy to follow, but the best part is after going through the couple of lessons you will not only learn basics of programming, but OpenGL in the same time

anyway, here's how i started:
Simplified BulletDinoDemo and how to compile it on Linux - http://www.bulletphysics.com/Bullet/php ... f=9&t=2274

*beginners* - Boiled Down 'HelloWorld' demo with OpenGL - http://www.bulletphysics.com/Bullet/php ... =17&t=2277

cheers
Last edited by abaraba on Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:13 am, edited 2 times in total.
meclory

Post by meclory »

Thank you very much!