Physics Simulation Forum

 

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: RigidBodyFromObjExample
PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2017 6:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 6:23 am
Posts: 3
I'm very very new to all the 3D stuffs,

Currently, I'm testing the RigidBodyFromObjExample in the tutorial

the imported obj "teddy bear" should be falling,

but it appears that it remains "floating" in the air.

I've tried different obj files, and only "sphere8.obj" falls as expected.

Is there something I should adjust when import vertex into btConvexHullShape ?

Thx


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2017 4:26 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 6:03 pm
Posts: 331
Location: San Francisco
bullseyetroll, there appears to be a bug in the code when loading the teddy.obj file. The first thing I noticed was that the inertia tensor of the shape was bad (<0.00966241, 1.25677e+14, 1.25677e+14>). When I examined the shape in more detail I found what appeared to be corrupt data: 9576 vertices, some with very bad values. The teddy.obj file is human readable and doesn't even have 9576 lines, so the vertex data parsed from that file is clearly wrong.

Maybe you should be using the stable version: Bullet-2.86?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 1:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 6:23 am
Posts: 3
Thx for the reply,

I'm currently using bullet3-2.86.1 from https://github.com/bulletphysics/bullet3/releases

so maybe i should fire an issue on github :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 3:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 6:03 pm
Posts: 331
Location: San Francisco
I downloaded the Bullet3-2.86.1 from that link and built on linux in 32-bit mode: the teddy bear moves and collides just fine. My previous attempt from the tip of bulletphysics/master was in 64-bit mode, so I rebuilt Bullet3-2.86.1 in 64-bit and reproduced the bug: the teddy bear was static.

Yes, I think a github issues should be filed specifying that it is the 64-bit mode that is broken.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 2:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 6:23 am
Posts: 3
I delete everything and compile it with 64bit again ... and magically it works.
I'm wondering how to reproduce this bug..


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot] and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group