Creating Rigid Bodies

nierth

Creating Rigid Bodies

Post by nierth »

Hello,

as an absolute beginner some of my questions may sound stupid, nevertheless I would appreciate it if someone bothers to answer me.
- after exporting an .obj file from Blender, I want to create a concave object. I have all the faces but don't know what to do with them now. I tried to use a triangleMesShape but don't know where to enter all the triangles.
- what does "localCreateRigidBody" exactly do? What is the difference to creating a rigidBody via a rigidBodyConstructionInfo?
- when creating the localInertia, what does the vector (mostly 0,0,0) exactly mean?

Thanks for your replies,

Thomas

EDIT: just to know: how did you learn Bullet? Only studying the examples (as I do at the moment) - or is there also a more efficient way?
nierth

Re: Creating Rigid Bodies

Post by nierth »

another question: is it also possible to give objects an inertial speed?
Sorlaize

Post by Sorlaize »

nierth wrote:Hello,

as an absolute beginner some of my questions may sound stupid, nevertheless I would appreciate it if someone bothers to answer me.
- after exporting an .obj file from Blender, I want to create a concave object. I have all the faces but don't know what to do with them now. I tried to use a triangleMesShape but don't know where to enter all the triangles.
- what does "localCreateRigidBody" exactly do? What is the difference to creating a rigidBody via a rigidBodyConstructionInfo?
- when creating the localInertia, what does the vector (mostly 0,0,0) exactly mean?

Thanks for your replies,

Thomas

EDIT: just to know: how did you learn Bullet? Only studying the examples (as I do at the moment) - or is there also a more efficient way?
1) Use btTriangleMesh::addTriangle to add each vertex to a new btTriangleMesh, and then pass this to a constructor for a collision shape like btBvhTriangleMeshShape. The documentation says to use classes derived from btTriangleMeshShape.