How to know if there has been a collision

Bilal

How to know if there has been a collision

Post by Bilal »

Hi...
I am new to bullet and working on a vehicle simulator using bullet

I want to play a certain sound as the vehicle collides with some other body..
But how would my main program know about the collision???
I dont know how to do it....

Please tell if you know

Thanx in advance
Erwin Coumans
Site Admin

Re: How to know if there has been a collision

Post by Erwin Coumans »

A collision usually results in creation, processing and (when objects separate) destruction of contacts points.

All those 3 events have a callback. There is no elegant interface yet, but the user can override those callbacks using those global internals:

gContactAddedCallback
gContactProcessedCallback
gContactDestroyedCallback

For each rigidbody that you want a callback, you need to set the CF_CUSTOM_MATERIAL_CALLBACK flag:

Code: Select all

rigidBody->setCollisionFlags(staticBody->getCollisionFlags()  | btCollisionObject::CF_CUSTOM_MATERIAL_CALLBACK);
See ConcaveDemo for an example.

Another method is to simply iterate over all contact points, see CollisionInterfaceDemo how to do this.

We need to provide some more demos and docs how to use those callbacks.
Hope this helps,
Erwin
chunky

Post by chunky »

I'm coming up against this problem soon, and I'm not entirely clear on the workflow, or how to do this:

I only want to know when the collisions happen - not actually modify the default behaviour of bullet when the collisions happen [eg, spaceship hits a barrier that bounces and additionally does damage, unlike a normal wall from which it just bounces].

How would I override the callback so that the original callbacks are still called, but my function that does damage to the ship is also called?

Thank-you very much,
Gary (-;
Erwin Coumans
Site Admin

Post by Erwin Coumans »