btHeightfieldTerrainShape : item collides but falls through

tardygrade

btHeightfieldTerrainShape : item collides but falls through

Post by tardygrade »

Hi,

I am very new to bullet physics and so far I made a quick test with one btstaticplane collision shape to serve as a terrain and one object that falls on it. That worked well. But then I wanted to try a more complex shape to represent terrain and opted for btHeightfieldTerrainShape. To make things simple I just set all heights to 0 for my tests. But now I am having a problem - the item hits the field ( I can see that it direction changes when it hits the mesh), but also falls through, as shown in the pictures. In first pic you can see it falling down. In the second one you see that it falls under the terrain but it did collide and the collision changed it's direction.

Does anyone have any ideas ? I spent a couple of hours so far, but can't figure out what the issue is. (I also tried flipping quads in the heightfield constructor but that didn't seem to help).

Thanks !

P.S. The output is from debug draw, so this is what bullet has. One odd thing is that I don't see any normals on heightfield terrain, but I dont know if that's the problem or not.
phys1.png
phys1.png (24.38 KiB) Viewed 19991 times
phys2.png
phys2.png (24 KiB) Viewed 19991 times
tardygrade

Re: btHeightfieldTerrainShape : item collides but falls thro

Post by tardygrade »

UPDATE: This seems to be related to the object size. If , in VehicleDemo.cpp app I go to DemoApplication::setShootBoxShape () and change the box Vector from

btVector3(0.5, 0.5, 0.5)

TO

btVector3(0.022, 0.500, 0.008)

the default app will start "misbehaving" as well. Basically it will shoot out these stick-objects , they will hit the ground , spin, etc, but once they are done spinning they will just fall through the ground. So this seems to have something to do with object size and terrain heightfield interaction.

Any ideas ?
xexuxjy

Post by xexuxjy »