Problem specific question about bullet collision detection

uschwes

Problem specific question about bullet collision detection

Post by uschwes »

Hi guys,

I am fairly new to bullet and have a specific use case where I could use your expertise. It aims at implementation details regarding the collision detection in bullet.

Here's the problem: I have a couple of car-like vehicles (box shapes or even sphere shapes for simplicity) together with their future positions (2D) over a certain time horizon. So each car's future path is represented by discretized tuples of 2D position and time. I have the same for an ego car. Now I want to find out whether the trajectory of my ego car collides with any other car's trajectory now or in the future.

What I did so far was interpreting the usual z-coordinate in the world as time and inserting the discretized position/time tuples of the other car's in a btCollisionWorld. Afterwards I am querying each discretized position/time tuple of the ego car for collision with the btCollisionWorld via the btCollisionWorld::ContactResultCallback. A boiled down code example (illustrative) is here:

Code: Select all

class CollisionCallback : public ::btCollisionWorld::ContactResultCallback {

CollisionCallback()
      : btCollisionWorld::ContactResultCallback(),
        m_collisionOccured(false) {
  }

inline virtual bool needsCollision(btBroadphaseProxy* proxy) const {
    if (!btCollisionWorld::ContactResultCallback::needsCollision(proxy)) {
      return false;
    }
    return true;
  }
  inline virtual btScalar addSingleResult(btManifoldPoint& cp, const btCollisionObject* colObj0, int partId0, int index0,
                                   const btCollisionObject* colObj1, int partId1, int index1) {
    m_collisionOccured = true;
    return (btScalar)0;  // not actually sure if return value is used for anything...?
  }
  bool m_collisionOccured;
};

btBroadphaseInterface* m_broadphase = new btDbvtBroadphase();