many rigidBodies performance issues

Salocin808

many rigidBodies performance issues

Post by Salocin808 »

Hi!

First of all: I am new to this. But it would be amazing if guys could help me out.

I am creating a lot of cubes (>7000). Each frame an update method is called where a cube is created and a rigidBody is added to the cube. After around 200 cubes the bodies, rigidbodies stop being created. Also FPS is decreasing rapidly.

Is there a specific method on how to create multiple instances of rigidBodies?
create cube in physics world:

Code: Select all

btRigidBody* Physics::createCube(float edge_length, float px, float py, float pz, float mass)
{
	//ref:http://stackoverflow.com/questions/9117932/detecting-collisions-with-bullet

btCollisionShape* colShape = new btBoxShape(btVector3(edge_length, edge_length, edge_length));

return Physics::addCollisionShape(colShape, px, py, pz, mass);
}
Typhontaur

Re: many rigidBodies performance issues

Post by Typhontaur »

if the cubes are same and use same shape, you can use same shape for all cubes...without create new shape for new cube...

a possible pseudo code

btCompoundShape *G_BTPhysics::GetBModelShape (int index)
{

for (uint32 i = 0; i < bmodels.Count(); i++) // check if already exist
		if (bmodels[i].Index == index)
			return bmodels[i].Shape;

BModel model;
	model.Index = index;
	model.Shape = new btCompoundShape();
Salocin808

Post by Salocin808 »

Typhontaur wrote:if the cubes are same and use same shape, you can use same shape for all cubes...without create new shape for new cube...

a possible pseudo code

btCompoundShape *G_BTPhysics::GetBModelShape (int index)
{

for (uint32 i = 0; i < bmodels.Count(); i++) // check if already exist
		if (bmodels[i].Index == index)
			return bmodels[i].Shape;

BModel model;
	model.Index = index;
	model.Shape = new btCompoundShape();
unfortunately that does not change anything :/ I am calling addCollisionShape with the same btBoxShape now but the problems stay the same..