Setting up collision between OpenGL meshes

jimjamjack

Setting up collision between OpenGL meshes

Post by jimjamjack »

Hello, I'm pretty new to Bullet so I'm pretty confused about setting up collisions between meshes. I understand how to set it up for basic shapes, but I'm having issues giving three of my meshes a collision shape of its mesh (I want simple ray callbacks, and I have a ray casting method).

I have three meshes in the shape of targets, for which I want each to have their mesh as the collision shape. How would I go about this?
Can anyone provide some sort of code to help me through this? Thanks in advance :)
Last edited by jimjamjack on Mon May 01, 2017 9:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
benelot

Re: Setting up collision between OpenGL meshes

Post by benelot »

If you want performance, do not try to use your OpenGL meshes to detect collisions. You should use an approximation of it built from the primitives. So if your mesh looks a bit like and mainly behaves like a sphere, use a sphere. If a capsule is better, then use that. Things like characters are usually full of capsules :)

If you really need to go for the full meshes, perform a convex shape decomposition and compose the convex hulls into a compound shape.
jimjamjack

Post by jimjamjack »

The meshes are shooting targets, I currently have a collision box shape for each one but it's inaccurate since I can shoot through the box but not the target and still 'hit' it. Would you recommend another primitive shape in particular? :)

I've looked into convex hulls and btvTriangleArrays and similar things, but honestly cannot figure out how to create the collision shape using the vertices/indices that I have. I know it's less efficient than using primitives, but accuracy is quite important for the ray calls :/

Appreciate the help though :)
drleviathan

Post by drleviathan »