Proper building process with current XCode

p1p1

Proper building process with current XCode

Post by p1p1 »

Hello, everybody!

I am new to Bullet, though I have some experience with 2d physics engines like Box2d and Chipmunk.
I decided to switch my iOS game to Bullet because I want more advanced control over destruction of my objects, therefore I need advanced breakable joints.
I am currently doing very first steps in learning Bullet, and my questions are mostly about the integration process...

As far as I know, there are two options for including Bullet into an existing project – by building and linking with a static library or by including the sources directly into the project (almost the same as static linking).
As soon as I tried building Bullet on my MacOS, I immediately ran into several questions and 'issues' with target architectures and version numbers.

The XCode build process (for MacOS X / iOS) involves generating xcode4 targets. I don't really understand why using outdated version numbers, current XCode version is 6 already.
Next, whatever I do, my libraries are named with _x64_ suffix, even when building Bullet after 'make'ing with --ios option.
I suppose, this is just naming, and can be ignored, though that is somewhat confusing.

I tried the second way of integrating by including all of Bullet sources into my iOS project directly, without building an intermediate library.
All of that compiled successfully, but I get a lot of warnings from LLVC about deprecated code, unused variables, functions and entities and skipped code paths, that seems odd to me.
I don't really understand the process of building for target ARM devices (iPhone, iPad and various Androids).
What do I have to specify to use optimized ARM math for vectors and matrices with Bullet ?
Do i need to define BT_USE_NEON myself, when directly including the sources into my project? What other '#defines' are there to look for?