Spheres show strange behaviour.

trying

Spheres show strange behaviour.

Post by trying »

Hello Bullet Physics Community,

I am new to Bullet and as well as this forum, too. I am facing a major problem with the behaviour of spheres when colliding with each other in mid air. There are 2 spheres with their own gravity and restitution. When they fall, Sphere 1 collides with Sphere 2 and Sphere 1 goes in the upward direction due to the restitution, it was expected that Sphere 1 will tend to fall again but instead of falling it stopped after coming down few centimeters. Also, Sphere 2 stops as well, after coming down few meters.

Sphere 1: Gravity = -0.7 Restitution = 0.8 ( `-` downwards)
Sphere 2: Gravity = 0.4 Restitution = 0.8 ( `+` upwards)
drleviathan

Re: Spheres show strange behaviour.

Post by drleviathan »

Bullet will deactivate moving objects that are going slow enough for a long enough period of time. When the spheres reach the top of their arc they are moving slowly so they are candidates for deactivation. You can change the threshold velocities (linear and angular) at which objects are considered "slow" on a per-object basis, however the duration for which they need to be moving slowly before they are deactivated is a system-wide setting and is, if I remember correctly, currently hard coded to 2 seconds.

Use btRigidBody::setSleepingThresholds() to set the linear and angular velocity thresholds for "slow".
trying

Post by trying »

drleviathan wrote: Use btRigidBody::setSleepingThresholds() to set the linear and angular velocity thresholds for "slow".
Thank you for your reply.

What values are fit for linear and angular velocities?

EDIT: What is the difference between world gravity and rigid body gravity ? Does rigidbody gravity gets affected by the world gravity ?
drleviathan

Post by drleviathan »