Using btDbvt for collision detection in FEM simulation

Renoster

Using btDbvt for collision detection in FEM simulation

Post by Renoster »

Hello everybody,

I am new to Bullet Physics and stuck with some things related to the AABB-Tree from btDbvt and I hope you can help me a bit.
I just started working on deformable haptic rendering with 3D-objects. We use the chai3d library for the haptic device and want to use VEGA FEM for the deformation simulation. A problem occurring with the VEGA lib is that it has no collision detection implemented. In my research i found a thesis by Ziyun Li in which they use the dtDbvt from bullet to detect collisions. (https://www.ruor.uottawa.ca/bitstream/1 ... thesis.pdf)

We planned to use this AABB-tree aswell but now i struggle a bit to get all working, especially the rayTest.

What i did by now is to try to import the mesh in the AABB-tree (what I am not sure if its correct like i try it):

Code: Select all

btDbvt *tree = new btDbvt();
  btDbvtVolume volume;
  btDbvtNode node;

// extract point data from loaded mesh 
  deformableObjectRenderingMesh->ExportMeshGeometry(&vertexCount, &vertexData, &triangleCount, &triangleData);

// create AABB-tree with btDbvt from Bullet Physics Library
  int j = 0;
  for (int i = 0; i < vertexCount*3; i=i+3) {
	  btVector3 pointdata = btVector3(vertexData[i],vertexData[i+1],vertexData[i+2]);
	  volume.FromPoints(&pointdata,3);
	  cout << j << "  " << vertexData[i] << "  " << vertexData[i+1] << "  " << vertexData[i+2] << endl;
	  j = j+1;
	  tree->insert(volume,node.data);
  }
Im stuck now trying to run a raytest with the current and previous position of my haptic device.
All examples uses the world object. In general is it possible to use this AABB-Tree without the world object? And if yes, can you give me a quick help with how the DBVT_IPOLICY is to use.

I hope someone can help me . Thank you a lot.

cheers renoster
Renoster

Re: Using btDbvt for collision detection in FEM simulation