Bare minimum to get a sphere rolling on a cube top.

darkheron

Bare minimum to get a sphere rolling on a cube top.

Post by darkheron »

Hello all,

I am new to Bullet, and consequently this is probably a dumb question... but I'm pretty stuck.

I am creating a box shape and a sphere shape. I drop the sphere shape onto the box shape and sorta expected the darn thing to roll, however, instead of rolling like I would expect I get the message:

Overflow in AABB, object removed from simulation
If you can reproduce this, please email bugs@continuousphysics.com

Please include above information, your Platform, version of OS.

Thanks.

This seems to happen when I use the setRollingFriction method. If I do not use this method, the code works just fine, but the sphere just sticks to the cube top, and slides whenever I apply an impulse instead of rolling. Once I use this setting, following the example in the RollingFrictionDemo, bullet starts returning NaN in the setWorldTransform transform, and will eventually implode with the above message.

I feel like there is some little thing I must be missing, so what is the bare minimum I need to do in order to get my spheres to act as spheres instead of darts? :)

TIA
RyanFavale

Re: Bare minimum to get a sphere rolling on a cube top.

Post by RyanFavale »

Have you tried applying a randomized, slight, angular velocity on them at creation time?
In a vacuum with no external forces, I'd expect the spheres to act as you describe.
Though I have not played with friction much yet in Bullet, my spheres have been rolling just fine when dropped on non-flat surfaces.
darkheron

Re: Bare minimum to get a sphere rolling on a cube top.

Post by darkheron »

RyanFavale wrote:Have you tried applying a randomized, slight, angular velocity on them at creation time?
In a vacuum with no external forces, I'd expect the spheres to act as you describe.