Serialization breaks determinism?

Physics APIs, Physics file formats, Maya, Max, XSI, Cinema 4D, Lightwave, Blender, thinkingParticles™ and other simulation tools, exporters and importers
snielsen

Serialization breaks determinism?

Post by snielsen »

I have an interesting problem and I am wondering if it is known issue or if there is something I am missing (I am still pretty new to bullet). I am using bullet in a turn-based multiplayer game I am developing and so determinism is of the upmost importance. I have set things up so that the simulation runs deterministically on every network player's machine and I am not having any problem with that. What I am running into is that from what I can tell the act of serializing and then de-serializing the world (using the standard dynamicsWorld->serialize(serializer)/btBulletWorldImporter(dynamicsWorld) paradigm) is breaking the determinism of the simulation between players.